For your safety, you can click the Quick Escape button to be immediately on the Environment Canada weather page.
Safe surfing: protecting your digital trail
At Geggunas'g House, we understand the importance of safety, both online and offline. This page offers crucial information for Indigenous women and their children, and anyone seeking help from domestic violence, on how to navigate the internet safely and privately. Learn how to cover your online trail and protect your digital privacy.
Images on this page have been provided by: https://www.cira.ca/en/indigenous-stock-images/

Why covering your online trail matters
When you are in a situation where your safety is at risk, your online activity can sometimes be tracked or monitored. Understanding how to clear your online history and manage your digital footprint is a vital step in maintaining your privacy and ensuring your safety. This section provides practical steps for women at our shelter and others seeking help to protect themselves.
See below to learn how to clear your internet history so that no one will know what websites you’ve visited recently.

Clearing your browsing history
Chrome
Clear Your History
- On your computer, open Chrome.
- At the top right, click More .
- Click History > History.
- On the left, click Clear browsing data. A box will appear.
- From the drop-down menu, select how much history you want to delete. To clear everything, select All time.
- Check the boxes for the info you want Chrome to clear, including “browsing history.” Learn more about the types of browsing data you can delete.
- Click Clear data.
To delete your search history, learn about clearing activity saved in My Activity.
Clear Your Entire Browsing History
- Go to the History panel on your home screen.
- Tap on Clear browsing history at the bottom of the History panel.
- Tap OK to confirm. Learn more
Mozilla Firefox
Clear Specific Items From Your Browser
- Tap the menu button (either below the screen on some devices or in the upper right of the browser) and select Settings (you may need to tap More first) .
- Tap Clear private data.
- Put a check mark next to the items you want to clear and then tap Clear data. Learn more
Microsoft Edge - Windows 10 & 11
You can view and clear your Microsoft Edge browsing history stored on a single device, across all synced devices, and in the cloud. You may choose to clear your browsing history at any time.
Clear browsing data stored on your device
To clear your Microsoft Edge browsing data, first decide if you want to delete the data only on the device you’re currently using, or across all synced devices. To clear browsing data just on the device you’re currently using, make sure sync is turned off. If you want to clear browsing data on all synced devices, make sure you are signed in and sync is turned on. Items that are synced will be cleared across all synced devices.
To turn off sync:
- Select Settings and more.
- Go to Settings > Profiles > Sync and select Turn off sync.
To clear your browsing data in Microsoft Edge:
- Select Settings and more > Settings > Privacy, search, and services.
- Under Clear browsing data > Clear browsing data now, select Choose what to clear.
- Under Time range, choose a time range from the drop-down menu.
- Choose the types of browsing data you want to clear (see this table for descriptions). For example, you may want to remove browsing history and cookies but keep passwords and form fill data.
- Select Clear now.
Clear browsing data stored in the cloud (if you’ve turned on sync or personalization)
To manage and delete data saved in the Microsoft cloud, see the privacy dashboard. On the privacy dashboard you can view or delete your data. Data that you delete on the privacy dashboard won’t be deleted from your device.
To learn more about how to stop sharing your data with Microsoft, see Microsoft Edge browsing data and privacy. Learn more

Internet Explorer
Regularly deleting your browsing history helps protect your privacy, especially if you’re using a shared or public PC.
- In Internet Explorer, select the Tools button, point to Safety, and then select Delete browsing history.
- Choose the types of data or files you want to remove from your PC, and then select Delete.

Safari
- Use incognito or private browsing modes: These modes do not save your browsing history, cookies, or site data after you close the window.
- Log out of accounts: Always log out of email, social media, and other personal accounts after each session.
- Manage location services: Turn off location services on your phone and in apps if you are concerned about being tracked.
- Be mindful of shared devices: If you are using a shared computer or device, be extra cautious about your online activity.
- Create strong, unique passwords: Use a combination of letters, numbers, and symbols, and avoid using the same password for multiple accounts.

Other important tips for online safety
- Use incognito or private browsing modes: These modes do not save your browsing history, cookies, or site data after you close the window.
- Log out of accounts: Always log out of email, social media, and other personal accounts after each session.
- Manage location services: Turn off location services on your phone and in apps if you are concerned about being tracked.
- Be mindful of shared devices: If you are using a shared computer or device, be extra cautious about your online activity.
- Create strong, unique passwords: Use a combination of letters, numbers, and symbols, and avoid using the same password for multiple accounts.
For additional support or questions, please do not hesitate to contact Geggunas'g House at [[phonenumber]] or [[email]].

Contact Geggunas'g House (NCPEI)
Cornwall, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Phone Line (24/7) 902-626-9783
General Inquiries: sheltermanager2@ncpei.com